Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee


Raquel Cruz Conceição
Instituto de Biofisica e Engenharia Biomedica, University of Lisbon

Brief Bio
I am an award-winning assistant professor with habilitation (“agregação”) and researcher with a significant record of peer-reviewed publications and funded European grants. I am the first doctorate researcher in Portugal with a PhD in the area of medical microwave imaging, who initiated the first research efforts in this area at a national level. I was also the youngest COST Action chair, with the COST Action TD1301 (Development of a European-based Collaborative Network to Accelerate Technological, Clinical and Commercialisation Progress in the Area of Medical Microwave Imaging) – coincidently this was the first large international project in the area of medical microwave imaging. Other past and current European funding which I have secured include an internationally-competitive Marie Curie Intra-European Fellowship (FP7), as the main researcher, and a Marie Sklodowska-Curie Action Innovative Training Networks (H2020), as a beneficiary, and I have just been funded as Project Coordinator of a Horizon Europe Twinning (Widera). Overall, I obtained ~207k€ in individual fellowships, I have been a key consortium member (as chair and as national beneficiary) in multi-partner projects totalling ~7.85M€ funding, out of which I was the main proposer or main/local Principal Investigator (PI) in projects that accounted for ~2.46Mk€. Additionally, I have attracted ~20k€ of personal funding, and I have led my research group of post-graduate students to obtain ~295k€ in funding. ... More >>


Javad Alirezaie, Electrical Engineering, Ryerson University, Canada
Michele Ambrosanio, Department of Engineering, University of Naples Parthenope, Italy
Alexandre Andrade, Physics, Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
Juan Gabriel Avina-Cervantes, Electronics Engineering, University of Guanajuato, Mexico
Peter Balazs, University of Szeged, Hungary
Fabio Baselice, Engineering department, University of Naples Parthenope, Italy
Richard Bayford, Natural Sciences, Middlesex University, United Kingdom
Alpan Bek, Physics, Middle East Technical University, Turkey
Udo J. Birk, Applied Future Technologies, FH Graubünden, Switzerland
Jelena Božek, University of Zagreb, Croatia
Antonio Bravo, Decanato de Investigacion, Universidad Nacional Experimental del Tachira, Venezuela
Heang-Ping Chan, Radiology, University of Michigan, United States
Mostafa Charmi, Electrical Engineering, University of Zanjan, Iran, Islamic Republic of
Munish Chauhan, SBHSE, Arizona State University, United States
Teresa M. Correia, Quantitative Bio-Imaging Lab, CCMAR, Portugal
Diego Dall'Alba, Computer Science, University of Verona, Italy
Giorgio De Nunzio, Matematica e Fisica, Università del Salento, Italy
Santa Di Cataldo, DEPARTMENT OF CONTROL AND COMPUTER ENGINEERING, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Ayman El-Baz, Bioengineering, University of Louisville, United States
Giuseppe Ferrauto, University of Turin, Italy
Costel Flueraru, National Research Council of Canada, Canada
Giovanni Gallo, Dipartimento di Matematica e Informatica, Università degli Studi di Catania, Italy
Carlos C. Geraldes, Life Sciences, Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal
Didem Gokcay, Department of AI and Data Engineering, Istanbul Technical University, Turkey
Dimitris Gorpas, Chair for Biological Imaging, Technical University of Munich, Germany
Tzung-Pei Hong, Computer Science and Information Engineering, National University of Kaohsiung, Taiwan, Republic of China
Jing Hua, Wayne State University, United States
Jae Youn Hwang, Information and Communication, DGIST, Korea, Republic of
Arti Jain, Computer Science & Engineering and Information Technology, Jaypee Institute of Information Technology, Noida, India
Xiaoyi Jiang, Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science, University of Münster, Germany
K. Senthamarai Kannan, Manonmaniam Sundaranar University, India
Mohamed Esmail Karar, Menoufia University, Egypt
Algimantas Krisciukaitis, Physics, Mathematics and Biophysics, Lithuanian University of Health Sciences, Lithuania
Andrew F. Laine, Biomedical Engineering and Radiology, Columbia University, United States
Ghazanfar Latif, Independent Researcher, Saudi Arabia
Sang-Won Lee, Center for Nano-bio Measurement, Korea Research Institute of Standards and Science, Korea, Republic of
Tengfei Li, Radiology, University of North Carolina Chapel Hil, United States
Hongen Liao, Room A315, Medical Science Building, Dept. of Biomedical Engineering, School of Medicine, Tsinghua University, Tsinghua University, China
Vaidotas M. Marozas, Kaunas University of Technology, Lithuania
G. K. Matsopoulos, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
Vasileios Megalooikonomou, Dept. of Computer Engineering and Informatics, University of Patras, Greece
Michal Mikl, Central European Institute of Technology - CEITEC, Masaryk University, Czech Republic
Jan Mikulka, Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Communication / Department od Theretical and Experimental Electrical Engineering, Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic
Kunal Mitra, Florida Institute of Technology, United States
Ana M. Mota, Faculty of Science - Institute of Biophysics and Biomedical Engineering, Lisbon University, Portugal
Malaya K. Nath, Independent Researcher, India
Tim W. Nattkemper, Independent Researcher, Germany
Binh P. Nguyen, School of Mathematics and Statistics, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
Norliza Mohd. Noor, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Kalman Palagyi, Department of Image Processing and Computer Graphics, University of Szeged, Hungary
Ivan Miguel Pires, Instituto de Telecomunicacoes/Escola Superior de Tecnologia e Gestao de Agueda, Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal
Syed Furqan Qadri, Zhejiang Lab (joint research institute by Zhejiang University and Alibaba Group), China
Harikumar Rajaguru, Department of ECE, Harikumar Rajaguru Department of ECE, Bannari Amman Institute of Technology, Sathyamangalam, India
Anil K. Sao, Indian Institute of Technology Bhilai, India
M. I. Saripan, FRG Biomedical Engineering, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Malaysia
Jon Sporring, Computer Science, E-Science Center, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Arkadiusz Tomczyk, Institute of Information Technology, Lodz University of Technology, Poland
Carlos M. Travieso-González, Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Campus Universitario de Tafira sn, Pabellón B, Despacho 111 (Señales y Comunicaciones), Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Benjamin W. Tsui, Department of Radiology, Johns Hopkins University, United States
Vladimír Ulman, Centre for Biomedical Image Analysis, Faculty of Informatics, Masaryk University, Czech Republic
Ricardo Vigário, LIBPhys-UNL, Faculdade de Ciência e Tecnologia da Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
Yuanyuan Wang, Electronic Engineering, Fudan University, China
Sheldon Wiebe, Department of Medical Imaging, University of Saskatchewan, Canada
Yunjie Yang, The University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom

(list not yet complete)